On Hallowed Ground: The Story of Arlington National Cemetery by Robert M. Poole

You know how sometimes you find a book that you just can’t put down?  A book where all your waking thoughts (and a fair number of your sleeping ones) are about the characters of that book and how their story will play out, and your house becomes a wreck and your kids eat McDonalds for dinner more than one day in a row just so you can finish that book?

This is not one of those books.  This was almost the opposite of that, actually.  Which is funny, because I did like this book, and I enjoyed the subject matter, and I thought it was a quick read once I was actually reading it.  But it took a lot of convincing to pick it up in the first place.

You see, On Hallowed Ground is The Story of Arlington National Cemetery.  (We can read a title!)  A story about a cemetery is never going to be cheery, and as this cemetery is connected with war, it is even less cheery.  But I felt that this story was one worth reading about, even if it can be downright depressing at points.

After that less than exciting build up, let it be known that I am glad I read this book.  I even give it 4 stars.  I found it fascinating to learn just a little bit more about this sacred place, from it’s beginnings as the home of Robert E. Lee (who I greatly admire) (except for the slave owner part), to the burials of Civil War officers in Mrs. Lee’s garden, to the tombs of the unknown soldiers, and the eternal flame at Kennedy’s final resting place.  I was particularly surprised to learn how close the Pentagon is to Arlington (which I found fitting), and that the Vietnam unknown soldier was identified, and so that tomb is empty (I guess I didn’t watch the news in 1998).  The book also has a map, labeling the sections of the graves of prominent Americans, and pictures in the middle.  I love a book with a map, and I love a book with pictures, so these were most welcome additions.  I only wish there were more!  Overall, I thought this book was very informative, fascinating, and only a little bit dreary.  I wanted to visit Arlington before I read this book, and my desire has only grown through this reading.

Leave a comment